One of our favorite labels, Bloodshot Records, recently released their fall sampler. Like their past samplers it’s free (well, it’ll cost you your email address) to download. The collection has plenty of 9B familiars such as Ha Ha Tonka and Whitey Morgan and it even contains a brand new track from the upcoming Scott H. Biram album, Bad Ingredients. So press play below and let Bloodshot help you get over your Monday morning sobers.

Track Listing:

01. Ha Ha Tonka – Usual Suspects
02. Lydia Loveless – Can’t Change Me
03. Dex Romweber Duo – Jungle Drums
04. Maggie Bjorklund W/ Rachel Flotard – Summer Romance
05. Jc Brooks And The Uptown Sound – Everything Will Be Fine
06. Scott H Biram – I Want My Mojo Back
07. The Mekons – Space In Your Face
08. The Bottle Rockets- Smokin’ 100’S Alone
09. Exene Cervenka – Alone In Arizona
10. Eddie Spaghetti – Never Thought I Would
11. Alejandro Escovedo – Castanets (Live)
12. Justin Townes Earle – Slippin’ And Slidin’
13. Whitey Morgan And The 78s – I Ain’t Drunk
14. Deadstring Brothers – Smile
15. Wayne Hancock – Your Love And His Blood
16. Andre Williams – Tricks
17. Ryan Adams – Shakedown On 9th Street
18. Old 97s – The Other Shoe
19. Southeast Engine – 1933 (Great Depression)
20. The Black Swans – Joe Tex


I figured there would be no better segue from Dale Watson than the new Wayne “the train” Hancock album. Now, to be honest, most of my Hancock knowledge has been gleaned from the Hank III fan base and up until Viper of Melody I’d never owned any of his cds. That’s due to change.

Much like Watson, Wayne makes no effort to intermingle genres, he just pens Texas juke-joint country swing music and he does a damned good job of it.

Now sometimes with ninebullets I find myself feeling the need to put more words in a post. More description. More back story. Sometimes though, in hindsight, I feel as if I muddied the waters more than anything and I *will not* do that to this album. I’m gonna post three songs and they’ll describe and define this album better than words ever could. So, check out this ex-Marine outta Austin, Texas.

Readers: What album should I buy next?

Wayne Hancock – Jump Blues
Wayne Hancock – Throwin’ Away My Money
Wayne Hancock – Working at Working

Wayne Hancock’s Official Site, Wayne Hancock on myspace, Buy Viper of Melody

EDIT: Turns out today in Wayne’s birthday. Happy Birthday!