Hey everyone. I shove off for SxSW in a few hours and figured I’d post a new podcast before I shuttered the site for the week. Well. Kind of shuttered. I’m sure there will be scattered updates from Austin but they’ll be sporadic and of questionable lucidity. If you’re interested you can follow me on Twitter and/or Facebook where I am sure there will be no shortage of updates, hijinks and pictures for use as evidence. But enough about me and my travels…let’s talk about the podcast.

The first half of the show serves as a SxSW preview of sorts but it’s worth is since the preview has brand new tracks from Ha Ha Tonka, Jason Isbell and the incomparable Slim Cessna’s Auto Club. As the show moves along I drift away from the SxSW motif with new songs from James Leg, Michael Dean Damron and The Red Hills.

All in all, I think I’ve done a pretty good job putting together an hour of quality listening for all the CxCW kids out there. As always, if you enjoy the show please share it with your Facebook and Twitter buddies. If you really enjoy the show, let me know…it’s always nice to get some feedback.


  1. Justin Otto – Sun [00.00.00]
  2. Jason Isbell – Alabama Pines [00.03.15]
  3. Ha Ha Tonka – Made Example Of [00.07.05]
  4. Slim Cessna’s Auto Club – Three Bloodhounds Two Shepherds One Fila Brasileiro [00.11.15]
  5. Otis Gibbs – Kansas City [00.17.17]
  6. Possessed By Paul James – Shoulda’ Known Better [00.20.56]
  7. Scott H. Biram – Long Fingernail [00.24.30]
  8. James Leg – Drinking Too Much [00.30.20]
  9. Buffalo Gospel – Sunday’s Never Smile Anymore [00.34.02]
  10. Doc Daily & Magnolia Devil – Blue-Eyed Blonde [00.39.30]
  11. I Can Lick Any Sonofabitch In The House – Bad Days Ahead [00.44.38]
  12. Red Hills – USAtan [00.48.42]
  13. Michael Dean Damron – Devil Meets The Long Haired Weirdo [00.52.07]
  14. Mario Matteoli – Sun Keeps On Beatin’ Down [00.57.38]

Download this episode (right click and save)


It’s been a busy period for the folks in the ICLASOB camp. First they finally pulled The Sounds of Dying off the shelf and gave it the proper release it deserved, Michael Dean Damron has a brand new solo cd coming out, and then you got I’m A Nightmare being pulled from the dusty and hardest to reach corner of the shelf for a proper release of its own.

The Red Hills are Jon Burbank, Dave Lipkind and Flapjack from I Can Lick Any Sonofabitch In The House, joined by standup bass player and singer/songwriter, Dewey Nelson. The band has been around for over a decade and is probably better known under their previous name, The Runaway Boys. The band has taken actively inactive to a new level, averaging approximately two shows every three years, and even longer to finish the album. The album has taken so long, in fact, that at some point a few years back fellow ICLASOB bandmate Mole Harris claimed that he’d drink the oil from one of the lamps at Dante’s if the cd ever saw the light of day. Fortunately for him the band changed their name, letting him off the hook on a technicality.

Knowing all of this, I really expected I’m A Nightmare to feel disconnected and disjointed, with a clash of ideas sometimes years apart. Instead, what I got was a record that could best be described as a mashup of ICLASOB and Tin Horn Prayer, an album meant to be played loud, with booze at hand and drunken sing alongs on tap. With winter about to give way for spring, your barbeque playlist needs some freshening up and The Red Hills have what you need. Check it out and lemme know if you agree that it’s Essential Listening.

The Red Hills – USAtan
The Red Hills – Seal It Up
The Red Hills – Eight Seconds

The Red Hills on Reverbnation, The Red Hills on Facebook, Buy I’m A Nightmare from Bandcamp