For the first time in my short radio career I had to program a show last night despite not feeling very well. While the show (i think) turned out pretty good it was really tough to get inspired to search out much brand new music. I did manage to get some brand new songs from Denver’s Bonnie and the Beard, Portland’s Michael Dean Damron, Orlando’s The Woolly Bushmen, Louisiana’s Hurray For The Riff Raff and the internet’s Noah with his “semi-viral” cover of LMFAO’s “Sexy And I Know It.”

If that sounds like the good stuff go put some ears on the archived stream of the show and thanks for tuning in.

Below is the playlist for May 17, 2012

01. Todd Farrell – Ninebullets Radio Intro
02. The Woolly Bushmen – Just Don’t Know
03. James Leg & Left Lane Cruiser – Ramblin’ On My Mind
04. Truckstop Darlin’ – Miss You More
05. Anais Mitchell – Welcome The Hadestown
06. Bonnie & The Beard – Sweet Devil Whiskey
07. McDougall – Gates Of Victory
08. Noah – Sexy And I Know It (LMFAO Cover)
09. New London Fire – Other Side Of Town
10. Lucero – I’ll Just Fall
11. Matt Woods – A Company Town
12. Michael Dean Damron – Autotune The World
13. Hurray for The Riff Raff – Born To Win (Part I)
14. Sallie Ford & The Sound Outside – Write Me A Letter
15. The Lumineers – Ho Hey
16. Murder City Devils – Rum To Whiskey

Bold = Request

Ninebullets Radio on Facebook
You can stream Ninebullets Radio here
You can download Ninebullets Radio here
If you like Ninebullets Radio please drop a 5 spot in the Tip Jar.

P.S.: If you like this show, do me a favor and post about it on your Facebook/Twitter/Blog. It’ll do a lot to help these bands reach new ears…and in the end, that’s what this is all about. It’ll also help bring the existence of the radio show to more people’s attention & the more people there are listening/paying attention to the show the more likely it is to stay on the air.

Episode 72: aired 05.17.2012

New London Fire – The Dirt The Blood The Faith

New London Fire of Asbury Park, NJ experiments with sound, creating an exciting, and often surprising, aural landscape that propels the superb first half of their third album, The Dirt The Blood The Faith.

Kicking off with “Other Side of Town,” the band careens like an old wooden roller coaster car whizzing dangerously fast along a rickety track. “Rise,” another standout, becomes an ominous, atmospheric anthem that perfectly segues into “Until the Light Goes Out on Me,” a short campfire hymn presented as a sing-along. “I Don’t See You Anymore” has the breezy vibe of vintage Gram Parsons, and would be a perfect pick for a Golden Smog-inspired playlist. “Arizona” is one of two bloody murder ballads, along with “The Dirt The Blood The Faith,” and both rank among the best cuts off an album rich with choice tracks. “The Dirt The Blood The Faith,” with its dark overtones and arena-ready chorus, reminded me instantly of Pink Floyd’s 1987 classic, A Momentary Lapse of Reason, where David Gilmour took the reigns and created a sonic masterpiece.

If there’s a complaint to be made, it’s simply that the second half of the album loses focus and becomes too repetitive. That isn’t to suggest that the final four songs, “The Jungle,” “Ain’t Wagin War,” “Brothers” and “October,” are bad or qualify as filler. They aren’t, and they don’t. They just fail to leap up and grab you like the earlier songs. And, since they are the final four songs, the album sadly limps off instead of saving one last ass-kicking tune for the very end.

Still, an album with six stellar tracks out of 10 total is an album deserving to be heard. And New London Fire is absolutely a band to watch.

New London Fire – Other Side of Town
New London Fire – Rise
New London Fire – The Dirt The Blood The Faith

New London Fire’s Official Site, New London Fire on Facebook, New London Fire on Spotify, Buy The Dirt The Blood The Faith