Ninebullets Radio is a radio extension of the blog that airs every Thursday night in Tampa, Florida on WMNF 88.5 FM at 10pm Eastern. The show is archived for one week after it’s original air date and is available for streaming here. Below is the playlist for March 24, 2011.

  1. Matt Woods – Days Of Walking
  2. Kenny Wayne Shepherd (w/Pinetop Perkins & The Muddy Waters Band) – Grindin’ Man
  3. Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears – She’s So Scandalous
  4. Valerie June – The No Draws Blues
  5. Buffalo Gospel – Sundays Never Smile Anymore
  6. Crooks – 18 Wheels
  7. Hellbound Glory – Ballad Of Scumbag Country
  8. The Kill Devil Hils – Drinkin’ Too Much
  9. Farmer Not So John – Paper Thin
  10. Otis Gibbs – Small Town Saturday Night
  11. Micah Schnabel – American Static
  12. Dead Milkmen – Fauxhemia
  13. Sallie Ford & The Sound Outside – Danger


Hey everyone. I shove off for SxSW in a few hours and figured I’d post a new podcast before I shuttered the site for the week. Well. Kind of shuttered. I’m sure there will be scattered updates from Austin but they’ll be sporadic and of questionable lucidity. If you’re interested you can follow me on Twitter and/or Facebook where I am sure there will be no shortage of updates, hijinks and pictures for use as evidence. But enough about me and my travels…let’s talk about the podcast.

The first half of the show serves as a SxSW preview of sorts but it’s worth is since the preview has brand new tracks from Ha Ha Tonka, Jason Isbell and the incomparable Slim Cessna’s Auto Club. As the show moves along I drift away from the SxSW motif with new songs from James Leg, Michael Dean Damron and The Red Hills.

All in all, I think I’ve done a pretty good job putting together an hour of quality listening for all the CxCW kids out there. As always, if you enjoy the show please share it with your Facebook and Twitter buddies. If you really enjoy the show, let me know…it’s always nice to get some feedback.


  1. Justin Otto – Sun [00.00.00]
  2. Jason Isbell – Alabama Pines [00.03.15]
  3. Ha Ha Tonka – Made Example Of [00.07.05]
  4. Slim Cessna’s Auto Club – Three Bloodhounds Two Shepherds One Fila Brasileiro [00.11.15]
  5. Otis Gibbs – Kansas City [00.17.17]
  6. Possessed By Paul James – Shoulda’ Known Better [00.20.56]
  7. Scott H. Biram – Long Fingernail [00.24.30]
  8. James Leg – Drinking Too Much [00.30.20]
  9. Buffalo Gospel – Sunday’s Never Smile Anymore [00.34.02]
  10. Doc Daily & Magnolia Devil – Blue-Eyed Blonde [00.39.30]
  11. I Can Lick Any Sonofabitch In The House – Bad Days Ahead [00.44.38]
  12. Red Hills – USAtan [00.48.42]
  13. Michael Dean Damron – Devil Meets The Long Haired Weirdo [00.52.07]
  14. Mario Matteoli – Sun Keeps On Beatin’ Down [00.57.38]

Download this episode (right click and save)


Normally, I don’t write about EP’s here on ninebullets. Yes, I know I say that every time I review an EP, and no, I’m not entirely sure why, but I’ve always just deferred to full length releases for coverage. Plus, if I’m being honest, I didn’t even listen to too many EPs in the past. Since getting the radio show I’ve been listening to a lot more cause you never know where a good song is gonna come from. Turn out, actually listening to these EPs just might be the cure for not writing about them. It definitely was for The Good Land by Buffalo Gospel.

Buffalo Gospel are a rather new band out of Milwaukee, Wisconsin who make straight forward mid-tempo Americana songs, and while my description of their sound might be unremarkable, the simple fact is that the 6 tracks on The Good Land are all really good songs. Fortunately, you’re not stuck just taking my word for it as the EP is available on their web site for free, so go check it out.

Buffalo Gospel – Sundays Never Smile Anymore

Buffalo Gospel’s Official Site, Buffalo Gospel on Facebook