The whole “XXX Music” movement has gotten very little run here on ninebullets for a lot of reasons, one of the biggest being the name but I had a little bit of an epiphany while talking on ninebullets radio a few weeks back. To paraphrase I basically said that, “disagreements aside, the simple fact is that we’re on the same side and fighting the same war…” With that said:

Give Me My XXX is a grassroots movement intended to give “outer-edge” artists a common umbrella to call home and it tries to be a place for fans of a band to try and find other “like sounded” bands. They’ve also been releasing some compilations under the “Southern Independent” moniker and offering them up for free download on Today, they released Vol. 2 which features a collection of bands that have already appeared here on as well as a handful that are already on tap to be showing up here in the near future. So, of you’re into the idea of checking out some new music along with some familiar artists with no fiscal risk check out the Southern Independent Vol. 2 Compilation available for free download here.

Track Listing:

01. Powder Mill – Devil in New Orleans
02. Joecephus and The George Jonestown Massacre – Quittin’ Time
03. Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit – Codeine
04. The Imperial Rooster – I Like The Way
05. Joey Allcorn – Whatever Kills Me First
06. Jonny Corndawg – Chevy Beretta
07. John Carter Cash – Santa Monica
08. Black Oak Arkansas – Sweet Delta Water
09. Honky Tonk Hustlas – Down and Out
10. Roger Alan Wade – Canteen Full of Dreams
11. Whitey Morgan and the 78’s – I Ain’t Drunk
12. North Mississippi Allstars – Hear The Hills
13. Jerry Mc Gill – Hootchie Kootchie Man